The Gateway History Journal

Call for Submissions

The Gateway History Journal is looking for submissions for our 2021 issue and would like to invite all students to submit history essays for our 20th volume!

Gateway is run by undergraduate students at Washington University in St. Louis. We produce one annual issue showcasing the five best pieces of undergraduate scholarship that we receive.

In order to be considered for publication, all paper submissions should adhere to the following criteria:

  • Papers must be between 10-35 pages in length (double-spaced), NOT including footnotes and works cited page(s).
  • Papers must follow the Chicago Manual of Style guidelines.

Papers are NOT restricted by topic, region, or time period. Art History papers also welcome.

Submissions are due by February 05, 2021 and should be submitted as a Word Document to If you have any questions, feel free to send us an email at

About the Journal

The Gateway History Journal provides undergraduate students an opportunity to demonstrate their exceptional history research, analysis, and writing. The Editorial Board prides itself on reviewing and publishing a diversity of submissions. The Gateway accepts submissions from all universities and does not impose topical or temporal restrictions.

Typically, the Managing Editor issues a call for submissions in January. The call for submissions outlines the submission requirements and the submission deadline. Once the submission deadline passes, the Editorial Board conducts a double-blind review to determine which submissions to select for publication. Editors then works with writers to improve the articles through a rigorous revision process. The Editorial Board aims to publish The Gateway in May.

Editorial Board

The 2019-2020 Editorial Board includes the following students:

Pranaya Pahwa (Editor-in-Chief)

Julia Fish (Managing Editor)

Elizabeth Goblirsch (Lead Editor)

Hannah Ward (Lead Editor)

Sophia Wu (Lead Editor)

Sophie Burns

Malcolm Douglass

Paul Gerstle

Ayush Halder

Joshua Keller

Kyle Klemme

Harris Lichtenstein

Rohan Palacios

Emily Regan

William Satloff

Carly Wellener

Washington University, Commencement, 1910

For any questions or to enter a submission, please contact the Gateway History Journal.